Test Information

1. First ascertain whether you need the placement test:

  • You are strongly encouraged to read through the following web pages
  • Languages assessed are Chinese (Mandarin), French, German, Italian, Japanese or Spanish 
  • For placement and proficiency certification in all other languages please go here
  • No placement test for English, please contact the English Language Institute
  • This test determines placement; the course level for which students should register
  • The test determines language proficiency up to 2000 level and can serve to fulfill the language requirement
  • The test does not add credit hours to your transcript
  • You may ask a language advisor if you are not sure whether to take the placement test


2. Understand the rules and regulations: 

  • Can only be taken twice
  • Test takes approximately one hour
  • It is recommended that you take the test one week before add/drop deadline to ensure your ability to register (However, we will process scores much more frequently in the days leading up to the add/drop deadline)
  • Test is administered by a third party

     

3. Choose which test to take:

  • You may take the test online at a time of your choosing, or sign up for the in-person test and come into COED 427 to take it during one of the specified times:
  • Cost: $28.90 (debit or credit card only) - Remote Test  (self-scheduled online)
  • Cost: $13.90 (debit or credit card only) - In-Person Test 
    • In-Person Test Dates to be held in COED 427: NOTE: times and dates have changed. Please read carefully!
    • August 3, Wednesday 8:30- 9:30am
    • August 15, Monday 1:30-2:30pm
    • August 16, Tuesday 8:30-9:30am
    • August 22, Monday 1:30-2:30pm
    • August 23, Tuesday 8:30-9:30pm
    • August 29, Monday, 1:30-2:30pm
    • September 26, Monday 1:30-2:30pm
    • October 3, Monday 1:30-2:30pm
    • October 4, Tuesday 8:30-9:30am
    • October 17, Monday 1:30-2:30pm
    • November 8, Tuesday 8:30-9:30am
    • November 28, Monday 1:30-2:30pm

Regardless of which format test you choose, you will receive a receipt via email as soon as you sign up
 

Are you ready to register? Please continue on to the next page.